Forum Message

App for iphone

Will they be making an app rof the iPhone
or the new ipad ?

Posted by Andy zielinski on May 31, 2010 8:09 PM BST

Hi Andy,

We are focused on other things at the moment, so creating an iPhone or iPad app is not something we are likely to do in the short term.

Regards,

Posted by Mark McLaren (Solar Accounts) on Jun 1, 2010 9:09 AM BST

Any more thoughts on an iPad app at all??

Posted by Steve H on Feb 18, 2011 2:25 PM GMT

Hi Steve,

Sorry no - this is not a high priority for us at the moment.

Regards,

Posted by Mark McLaren (Solar Accounts) on Feb 18, 2011 3:23 PM GMT

Hi guys

How compatible would the software be with a HTML interface? I'm a UI designer and could possibly do a HTML interface which is mobile and tablet friendly - just for the basic functions. I guess the problem is in getting the data connected to the hosted pages - you'd have to host the customer DBs. Have you looked in to any mobile options yet?

Posted by Tom Harrop on Oct 10, 2011 11:12 PM BST

Hi Tom,

Our analysis is that it would require significant work to produce an HTML-based app for Solar Accounts: The UI interface would need to change from java SWT to HTML and the persistence mechanism would need to change from a flat file to a relational database. Also, the current implementation stores all data in memory - every transaction, every customer record etc. It is likely that with a single server this would no longer be possible so we would need to look at ways to cache the data on hard disk until it was needed. For these reasons it is unlikely that we will produce a web-app or client-server based version of Solar Accounts in the near future.

Regards,

Posted by Mark McLaren (Solar Accounts) on Oct 11, 2011 9:21 AM BST

It doesnt have to be the complete works mobile.
It would be great to have a simple app to collect expense information on the go with a simple upload into the desktop version

Posted by Tony m on Feb 6, 2012 11:20 PM GMT