Forum Message

Progress Invoices??

Hi, i'm really new to this and love your trial software so i'm trying to figure out how to do the following with it:

I'm a wedding photographer, I take a deposit then the balance is paid in full no later than 14 days before the wedding date which can sometimes be over a year away. I also accept part payments until this time too. What is the best way to create invoices for this scenario?

I want to just create one invoice for the full amount, apply the initial deposit as a payment and then send my customers that invoice with the date the balance is owed. If they pay additional amounts during the period, I would like to send them an updated invoice. I've seen I can do this with the terms but I'd have to create a new term with days remaining to the 14 days prior to the wedding so my terms list could grow quite large.

Is there an easier way I could do this or is my lack of understanding confusing me. Does this need to be done with one or more invoices?

I hope i've not left you as confused as I am at the moment.

Many thanks.

Posted by Paul Hunter on Feb 5, 2011 10:06 PM GMT

My understanding having had a part payment is raise the invoice for the full amount, receive what you have been paid against it and the change the date for the balance. You can then print the invoice which should just have the outstanding amount.

You would need to work on when payments are received, for the accounting to be correct.

If this is wrong Im sure Mark will correct me on this.

Posted by Tom Beattie on Feb 6, 2011 1:13 PM GMT

Hi Paul,

Yes it is not simple to produce 'progress invoices' in Solar Accounts. Tom is basically correct, except that you should issue Pro-Forma invoices until you have actually provided the service.