Forum Message

Solar Accounts 3.3.3 version issue Win7 64 bit

Upgraded to new 3.3.3
will not run

Hi

I've been using the product for about a year and can't speak highly enough of it. It hasn;t gone wrong until now.

I have just upgraded to 3.3.3 which refuses to run on my Windows 7 64 bit system. The pervious version had no issue. I have uninstalled, rebooted, then reinstalled. Same issue.

When you select any of the links or browser direct to the install folder, an egg timer appears for a few seconds then disapears. Solar Accounts doesn't start..

No errors in the event log.

Disabled my anti-virus. Same result.

HELP !!!!!!!

Posted by Sean Hanna on Feb 11, 2011 1:51 PM GMT

UPDATE

Managed to get it sorted. The new version requires ADMINISTRATOR privillages in order to run.
This means I must right-click and select the Run As Administrator option. I am a Information Security consultant and I’m not very comfortable with the idea of granting nay program full local admin rights just to run.

I’m sure other Windows 7 users will have the same issue.

What changes have been made that require these permissions?

Sean.

Posted by Sean Hanna on Feb 11, 2011 2:01 PM GMT

I'm glad to hear you are able to at least run the program.

Solar Accounts is designed to be run by a standard user without requiring administrator privileges. I've just tested version 3.3.3 now on Windows 7 as a standard user without any problems. It sounds like you are experiencing a random bug in the software - we'll note the problem and see how many other users report the same problem.

Posted by Mark McLaren (Solar Accounts) on Feb 11, 2011 3:19 PM GMT

I've just upgraded Solar tonight and now can't get it to run!. I'm using 64 bit Vista so i'm thinking I might have the same issue as the OP. I have tried the run as administrator option but even that isn't working.

I now have no access to Solar at all!

Posted by Barry Hynd on Feb 27, 2011 8:15 PM GMT

Hi Barry,