Forum Message

Initial Thoughts

I am currently trialling Solar Accounts (Mac version) and thought I would share my initial thoughts. I would say that overall the software is well designed and easy to use, and my experience has been a positive one. The following comments are my less positive experiences.

To explain my circumstances, I am a self employed photographer, so accounting is very much an inconvenience, and I want it to take the minimum amount of my time.

1. The main issue I have is batch entering of expenses - there are too many clicks. After entering the expense and clicking Save it returns to the Home page and I have to click Record an expense. Why doesn't the Money Paid window just clear the contents and stay open so I can add another expense? This might also address the issue where the date resets from a date in the past to todays date (I've registered my opinion elsewhere on the forum about this).

2. I find the Journal Memos "Money Paid Out" or "Invoice Payment from" annoying and have to delete them every time. There is an ID that says PAY or REC which tells me what it is, and I just want to know the name of the supplier/customer.

3. Creating invoices is not perfect either. After clicking create new invoice, I can Tab through the various data entry fields until I get to Quantity, and then Tabbing takes me to the tick box "Prices Include VAT", so I have to use the mouse to click on the Description box, and then use the arrow keys to move through the next fields in the line. Then use the mouse again to select the quantity on the next line down. This is complicated, time consuming and counter intuitive. It would also be handy to add a line comment in the Description field.