Forum Message

Group Account Balance over time

Hi Mark,

I've been using your software for 7 years now and still loving it.

I'm trying to work out how to run a transaction report that shows the balance of a "group" of accounts over time.

I need to calculate daily interest based on the 'net' daily balance accross a group of accounts. I am hoping I don't have to run daily balance sheet extracts to be able to do that. I suppose the alternative is to run a transaction report for each account, but that's also quite a lot of effort - there are 28 accounts in the group.

Any suggestions?

PS: I do hope you're not going anywhere. I'm still recommending this product to my clients to buy as a one-off license, since most of them aren't interested in a monthly subscription (in fact most are emphatically against it). I notice you haven't done an update in years, so I worry you might vanish...! If there is a risk of that, is there any way I can get a copy of all the help files on Solar together? If not, I suppose I could PDF every page or ask someone to save the website locally. Let me know if there is an easier way.

Cheers

Angel K

Posted by Angel K on Aug 16, 2016 11:52 AM BST

Hi Angel,

I'm sorry but I cannot think of a quick way to show the running balance for a large group of accounts.  The only thing I can suggest is that you view the Balance Sheet report for each day (as you mention).  Sorry I cannot offer a better solution.

It's great to hear you still like our software - we certainly aren't going anywhere! However, we are focused on developing the online version of Solar Accounts and haven't been adding features to the offline version for a while.  You can see some of these new online features here: http://www.solaraccounts.co.uk/switch-to-online.php