Forum Message

Making Tax Digital

I have been using Solar for quite a few years with no problems. It seems that I will have to upgrade to your on-line version from the computer based that I have

1 I am still running XP will I need to upgrade to a newer version.

2 Will my existing file transfer onto the on-line Solar.

Posted by Tom Beattie on Feb 1, 2019 10:30 AM GMT

Hi Tom,

Thanks for your interest in the online version of Solar Accounts. To answer your questions:

1. Unfortunately Windows XP is not supported by the online version - you will need to upgrade your version of Windows in order to install Solar Accounts Online.

2. Yes it's very easy to transfer your existing data to the online version - just follow these steps:
    https://www.solaraccounts.co.uk/switch-steps.php
    If you get stuck at any point just let us know the step you reach and any error message.

Regards,

Posted by Mark McLaren (Solar Accounts) on Feb 1, 2019 2:57 PM GMT

Thanks for your replay Mark, thinking ahead will Solar be able to complete tax returns from April 2020.

Posted by Tom Beattie on Feb 4, 2019 12:13 PM GMT

Hi Tom,

It's too early for us to give a definitive answer. For income tax and corporation tax returns, you will be able to submit your figures from Solar Accounts to HMRC but we haven't yet decided whether this will be directly through Solar Accounts or using third-party software.

Regards,

Posted by Mark McLaren (Solar Accounts) on Feb 4, 2019 2:38 PM GMT

Hi, just a question regards using Excel for MTD..

Under the Home tab Prepare a VAT Return, this can be exported to excel. The figures (box1, box2, etc) we would normally use to manually key in to HMRC for the VAT Return.