Forum Message

Online vs offline

What are the actual benefits of the 2 versions.
I'm a vat registered sole trader, so to go from the offline version (one off payment) to a quite extortionate monthly payment for the only benefit being that it's "in the cloud" which quite frankly I don't need!

Posted by Rob Couzins on Feb 18, 2019 12:34 PM GMT

Hi Rob,

Probably the biggest benefit of the online version version over the offline version is the ability to submit VAT returns directly to HMRC in accordance with the new "Making Tax Digital" rules. Here are some of the other benefits:
https://www.solaraccounts.co.uk/switch-to-online.php

Regards,

Posted by Mark McLaren (Solar Accounts) on Feb 18, 2019 2:05 PM GMT

Are you planning to discontinue the off line version of Solar? Do we need to start looking for a new software package?

Posted by Neil Millward on Feb 26, 2019 9:12 AM GMT

Hello Neil,

Yes, we stopped developing the offline version of Solar Accounts in 2014 and will end support for that version soon. In case you haven't seen it, this page describes how to switch to the online version:
https://www.solaraccounts.co.uk/switch-steps.php

Regards,

Posted by Mark McLaren (Solar Accounts) on Feb 26, 2019 1:33 PM GMT

Hi Rob, like you I'm a bit miffed off about being backed into a corner on this. It seems Solar accounts have gone from being a very reasonable priced product to an overpriced product. At least that is what it seems to me, when you don't use all the products abilities. I don't use the offline version to its full potential as I don't need to. Likewise I wouldn't use all the online features. Shame Solar haven't offered a "lite" version at a reduced price for people like me who don't want all the bells and whistles and just need to enter their VAT online. At £240 (plus Vat) per year its too much but I fear we might have to all bend over and take it.