Forum Message

VAT treatment on Invoices including a travel expense

Hi
We just had an employee complete a job for a customer, which involved 500 miles of travel. I know how to process the Mileage Allowance Payments for the employee, with appropriate VAT treatment.

What I am not sure of is how to show it on the Invoice to the customer.
Would it be best to split the travel expenses into two lines, one for the non-VAT component, and one for the VAT inclusive component?
Or is there some better way?

Mike B

Posted by Mike B on Jan 25, 2010 6:01 PM GMT

Hi Mike,

As I understand it, you need to apply VAT to the full amount you charge your customers, irrespective of the VAT you have paid on your expenses. However, I'm not a VAT expert on this - I recommend you check this with HMRC on 0845 010 9000.

Regards,

Posted by Mark McLaren (Solar Accounts) on Jan 25, 2010 7:59 PM GMT

Thanks Mark, great support as usual!

From what I understand having battled through the VAT maze, it turns out that since this is part of the core services we provide, we need to invoice the customer for the MAP amount excl VAT, plus any additional margin we want to add, and then charge the customer VAT on that total amount.

But now I do have some further questions re staff expenses.
On the same trip this member of staff also had to pay a parking fee, and buy themselves a meal, both of which we can charge to the customer, and I have done so on the customer's invoice.

My questions are in terms of how to record those expenses in Solar to be able to reimburse the member of staff, at some point in the near future.