Forum Message

Flat Rate Scheme for VAT

I am a bookkeeper preparing a clients accounts using the VAT flat rate scheme. I understand how Solar Accounts treats the VAT showing appropriate net values and a running Gain/Loss account due to use of the scheme. I am very impressed.
HMRC indicate that expenses should be accounted for including VAT under the FRS. It appears to me that the only P & L report in Solar shows the net expenses. A workaround would appear to be to input all expenses at 0% VAT rate. This would appear to input gross values to P&L but would not impact on the correct VAT treatment as VAT is only accounted for based on the income. The only downside would be that you would not know the correct gain or loss being made on the VAT scheme.
Do you have any views on this and the preparation of accounts to suit HMRC requirements.

Posted by Leslie Watson on Apr 20, 2010 10:46 AM BST

Hello Leslie,

Thanks for your interest in Solar Accounts. Our understanding is that while HMRC suggest expenses be recorded including VAT when under the flat rate scheme, they will also accept the treatment used in Solar Accounts (ie. recording the net gain/loss on the flat rate scheme).

Recording VAT at 0% on purchases is fine, although as you point out it makes it harder to determine what effect the flat rate scheme has on the bottom line. It also makes it more difficult to compare costs with periods that don't include the Flat Rate Scheme. Beyond that we cannot offer guidance on which treatment to use.

Regards,

Posted by Mark McLaren (Solar Accounts) on Apr 20, 2010 12:51 PM BST

I also have a question regarding the Gain/Loss shown for the Flat Rate VAT scheme, that is of a similar nature.

It's quite excellent that Solar Accounts shows this line clearly in the P&L, however I am not sure of the treatment of this Gain/Loss within my corporate tax calculation. I have searched and cannot find anything in this regard on the HMRC website.